Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Getting enough sleep is quintessential for any human being to live a healthy life. In today’s era, most individuals do not get sufficient sleep for various reasons. I intend to discuss the problems of not getting the required sleep and solutions to them. To embark, a person who gets less sleep than the prescribed one (adult requires 6-8 hours of sound sleep and child requires 8-10 hours of sleep), tends to face many mental issues. Researchers have shown that due to the lack of sleep, many face mental diseases such as dementia and some tend to forget things. In addition, a shortage of sleep can affect one’s ability to take the effective decision personally and professionally. Also to add to it, one lacks concentration at work or study because the mind did not get enough relaxation to function properly due to deficiency of sleep. For instance, a recent study was done by the union of psychiatric shows that the employees in a company are not able to focus because they didn’t get enough sleep and, because of that they were not able to focus on their work due to which their productivity declined compared to one who was relaxed by getting proper sleep before coming to office. In my opinion, the best solution to this problem is to promote exercise. People should be educated about the benefits of exercise and how it can help get sufficient sleep. Secondly, electronic gadgets: smartphones, laptops, televisions should be kept out of the bedroom to avoid screen time before going to bed which indirectly affects sleep. For instance, a study from IMA-Indian Medical Association shows that leaving a smartphone half-hour before going to bed has a significant positive effect on the depth of sleep. Also, people can develop a habit of reading a book or novel of their interest before going to bed. This can have benefits: increase in their knowledge and can be saved by using harmful electronic gadgets. To conclude, not sleeping enough can have detrimental effects on one’s mental health which can affect them in many ways, it is possible to get the required sleep by developing some positive habits such as exercising, reading.