Opinions are divided on whether the fact that the intelligence of humankind will be surpassed by that of computers is detrimental or beneficial. Although both viewpoints are justifiable, I lean towards the latter.

Opinions are divided on whether the fact that the intelligence of humankind will be surpassed by that of computers is detrimental or beneficial. Although both viewpoints are justifiable, I lean towards the latter. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that the assistance of super-advanced computers is positive. The chief of this is that, thanks to the help of these highly intelligent machines, job productivity could be significantly increased, and job burdens reduced for a lot of people. Al caregivers, for example, allow parents to pursue their defined job without the need to sacrifice their careers for childcare and chores. Similarly, elderly people are more likely to have a higher living standard with relatively lower costs if robots are intelligent enough to cater to their needs. Furthermore, it is even projected that robots' productivity will be so high that there will be enough capital to provide free education and health care and that poverty and starvation will be eradicated. On the other hand, I am convinced that the aforementioned benefits could pale in comparison to their considerable drawbacks. First and foremost, with the increasing development of computers, colossal people are more likely to be at risk of losing jobs. A typical example of this is that a large number of human divers are inclined to be replaced by robots. Another demerit related to this trend is that it poses a serious threat to the intellectual development of human beings. Given that a computer with the ability to think critically and logically could help humans make objectively sound decisions, this would create over-dependence, which would in turn have a stultifying effect on human intelligence. In conclusion, while there is no doubt that the pros of highly-intelligent computers, I believe that these are outstripped by their cons.