opinion essay about raising the age at which people retire

There are several people who suggest that since it has become common for individuals to live longer, therefore, the age of retirement from work need to be extended. In my opinion, many jobs worldwide require people with specific ages to do, and it would be more appropriate when a person becomes older, to spend more time with the family. Although, the overall years, which a person can live, have become longer, this can not be a reason for extending the limit of retirement. This is due to the fact that there are a lot of jobs which are very sensitive to how old the worker is. In many cases, these need a person who has both physical and mental abilities to perform the work. Medical jobs are one of these. A doctor need to do some activities which require long hours of standing. Also, diagnosing patients needs analyzing the cases and finding cures, which require a healthy person to do. In addition to this, when people become older, they need to spend more amount of time with their families. It is known that, doing a job, specially, in the present days, consumes huge amount of time. Many are struggling to find the balance between their work and life. Therefore, extending the age of retirement would cause issues in the relationships between the family members. For example, in the western world, the social relations inside the family have become weaker due to the long hours that many parents spend outside in working. In conclusion, increasing the limit of ages at which individuals can retire, because of people have become living longer, is not suitable for many jobs, and it would be more appropriate to spend the rest of life with families instead.