opinion essay A child is a fire to be lit, not a vase to be filled” by Francois Rabelais

Some people agree with Francois Rabelais that child’s developing depends only on his or her own interest and should not be directed by people around. Personally, I believe that this point of view is rather misleading than correct. On the one hand, childhood is one of the most important period developing personal charisma. In other words, influence from parents side might slow down the process of becoming a character. For instance, being totally under control, child might have grown spinless and inactive, working in an unwanted job. That’s why it is important give a freedom and a choice for children since childhood. On the other hand, lack of direction from parents side makes child absent-minded or even lazy. Vast majority of children have no interest and desire to self-developing. Spending time in their gadgets, they have no motivation to move. Besides, being always unnoticed by parents, kids have no ambitions and support for rising their skills. Thus, admonition one of the most essential stage in educational process. To summarize, according to Francois Rabelais words, children’s development depends only on their own preferences and interests, while people around might slow down the process by intervention in their lives, suppressing their ambitions. Despite that popular opinion, there are several aspects such as laziness and lack of self-control I support.