modality in academic writing

The origins of the modal functionalist view can be traced back to widespread dissatisfaction with formalist theories of language, which has led to the emergence of various branches of functional linguistics. In recent years, it has been recognized that modality is a transliteration grammatical category that can indeed be the subject of typographic research. (Palmer 2001). According to Palmer (2007), a method not only reflects a view of future possibilities, but also fulfills the requirements of the language description. Negotiation and mediation are modality (Martin and Rose 2003) and can be seen as a resource for adopting different positions (SimonVandenbergen and Aijmer 2007). Modality is classified into two categories, i. e. modality (questioning the certainty or probability of a statement, using Lyons, Palmer, and Downing & Locke's terminology) and unnatural (applying oblige or authorize the reader/audience, according to Lyon, Palmer and Downing & Locke). Here we can see examples of old terms: Results may change if certain conditions are met. . . , or Concert must end. Here are some examples of the second term: This issue needs specific consideration. . . , Should we negotiate peace now? or This experiment must be repeated. Under certain normative contexts such as law, ethics, convention, etc. , the deontic modality determines whether the proposition conveyed by the sentence is mandatory or permissible. (Nuyts 2001) examines linguistic expressions of modal (knowledge) from a broad functional point of view and identifies four main types of expressions found in Western European languages: (1) modal adverbs; (2) modal adjectives; (3) mental state predicates; (4) modality modifiers (Nuyts 2001). In English, there are four main alternatives to expressing the deontic modal as a must, and the periphrastic constructs must, must, and must. Perkins (Perkins 1983) Semi-auxiliaries, adjectives, participating and nominal modal expressions, modal adverbs, and lexical verbs are all examples of "modal expressions" that go beyond the category auxiliary methods (Aijmer and Altenberg 2014). As a result, two method expressions cannot have the same definition if they are passed verbally. Humility is an important grammatical expression in academic papers in English. Writing convincing academic texts in a second or foreign language for acceptance and publication in reputable or internationally indexed journals is a fundamental means of securing change. science (Livnat 2012). The nature and extent of the derivative representation is closely linked to the needs of particular disciplines: the author's presence in the natural sciences is generally minimal, while in the social and human sciences. literature, the author is much more explicit about their presence. Various methods, such as first person pronouns, can be used to demonstrate the presence of the author. (Hyland 2001, Harwood 2005, Fløttum, Dahl et al. 2006, Fløttum, Kinn et al. 2006). Acceptable uses of different devices, such as different forms of modals, are considered at this level of writing. The ability of researchers to create successful academic papers, publish them in reputable journals, and ultimately convince others to cite them depends almost entirely on their ability to produce scholarly articles, publish them in reputable journals, and finally have them cited (Swales 1990). When experts who are native English speakers make choices about how to balance presenting their findings and communicating the importance of their own work, they have a far greater advantage than non-native speakers. Intuitively, these native speakers understand that modal verbs do not serve a single purpose in English, nor in a particular genre of scientific writing. They recognize that each of these forms has more than one possible meaning and function, including permission, possibility or likelihood, obligation or necessity, will or anticipation (Hykes 2000). . In 2017, Nadia MifkaProfozic conducted the study “Cognitive Mode Processing in Second Languages: a Study of Reading at One's Own Speed” which can be done with a larger sample and includes consists of an assessment test of acceptability, with typically different L1 participants. shed more light on these processes. A contrast study was conducted on the use of personal pronouns and modal verbs by non-native speakers, where, due to limited data, generalizations could not be reached. on the use of modal verbs and pronoun preferences in college. courses by non-native speakers. In 2014, research was conducted by Laura L. Aull and Zak Lancaster, specifically "Language Position Markers in Early and Advanced Academic Writing: Baseline Comparisons", which emphasizes Their main focus was on the characteristics of the text as an unresearched target of the new university. writing, and of course, there is much more to learn through contextual corpus analysis. But recently, to what extent do authors of high-quality scholarly articles, regardless of their nationality, use different types of formats in their writing? In this study, we wanted to answer this question. We hope to be able to compare scientific articles published in reliable and valid journals written by native writers and Iranian writers. Our study aimed to identify the distinctive features of the frequency of using different types of modality in these articles.