Open plan offices offer a better working environment for staff than normal office.

It is believed that open plan offices provide better working conditions than normal offices. Even though communication is facilitated in the office and it cuts the budget, I partly disagree with this idea due to adverse effects on employee’s performances such as lack of privacy and distractions. To begin with, the absence of walls makes workers easily distracted. Moreover, since there are no walls, individuals can see everything that is happening around, for instance, colleagues can be noisy while killing time or they could be disturbed by collegue’s clients, consequently, employees show unsatisfying results. In addition, open plan offices are uncomfortable for office workers due to reduction of privacy. It is obvious that people do not prefer to be observed by others constantly since they are afraid to be judged and become stressed. That is why for few of them it is difficult to perform professionally. Nevertheless, open offices have several benefits such as economic efficiency and free information facilitation. No doubt it is easier to exchange information and ideas in person instead of via emails, video conferences or phones. This approach boosts results and the feeling of the team. There is no doubt you can fit more people in a smaller space with an open office plan, and that comes with significant savings for a business. In conclusion, in my opinion disadvantages outweigh advantages of open spaces offices due to there can appear distractions and mental pressure on employees since the lack of privacy, consequently, workers perform less efficiently. Despite the fact that people can communicate more easily.