Only 20% of Tech Jobs are Held by Women. What problems do women face that prevent them from getting these jobs and what must be done to change this situation?

Only one-fifth of tech employees are women which is a significant reminder of lack of equality in corporate sector. In this essay I will advocate few issues regarding this and possible solutions for the same. Due to advancement of technology, a lot of commendable changes are experienced in this modern digital era but still a lot of disparity regarding inequality towards women is prevalent. Every one in society claim that women should be provided equivalent opportunities in all aspects of life but, the light of the fact is that they are not treated similarly. This distinction starts at a very early age or you can say even before the birth of a girl in most households of rural and several urban areas includes not allowing girls to pursue higher education and to work. Women have always faced challenges in the aspect of balancing professional and personal life especially when it comes to pregnancy. Various software and IT companies prefer hiring men over women for the mere fact that they are not offered maternity leave. Moreover, due to familial pressures and commitments the recruiters feel that women could not perform better that men. Not only this but there is no system of equivalent wages in today's corporate organizations. For instance, in a IT firm the pay for analyst position is different for male and female, this shows us the discrimination between opposite genders exist in firms. Because of above reasons a significant female population are not even given the opportunities to study further, hence government should create awareness campaigns in rural areas to promote women education and also give financial assistance in form of scholarships and loans. New regulations should me made regarding pay parity in all sectors thus promoting women empowerment. Besides, corporate and software offices should also stop the patriarchal approach and make changes in their HR department regarding recruitment of women as any gender men or women should be awarded job on basis of eligibility and skill set rather than their gender which is beneficial to them as well. To conclude, I believe irrespective of gender every citizen has a right to employment and it is high time we as a society start making reforms to promote women empowerment to future of our country. Don't you?