Online shopping is increasing dramatically. What are the effects on the environment and kinds of jobs?

These days, more and more people are purchasing their items online. This trend has a great impact not only on the surrounding environment but also on the types of jobs available. To begin with, online shopping has positive and negative effects on the environment. The main benefit of ordering our needs online is that people do not have to drive their cars or even use public transportation to reach shopping centers. In contrast, if regular shopping was still dominant, traffic jams would be worse than now, especially during weekends. However, purchasing online has harmful consequences. One of them is that people are often ordering more than they actually need due to the easiness of shopping online, which means that a tremendous amount of wastes are often produced. As a consequence, these wastes put a huge burden on the environment. In addition, there are great influences on the kinds of jobs available nowadays. Firstly, traditional occupations have decreased over the last few years due to the change of the market patterns. For example, salesmen and accountants are no longer the most required professions now. This is because the more people buy online, the fewer retailers’ businesses expand, which means fewer jobs offered by this market. Secondly, shopping online has created thousands of vocations, which are considered relatively new kinds of jobs. For instance, programmers and IT employees have had more job opportunities than traditional workers. As a result, if online shopping keeps growing, more and more changes will probably happen in the immediate future. In conclusion, while shopping online has different impacts on the environment including decreased traffic crowding and increased wastes, it has replaced traditional professions with modern ones.