IELTS Writing Task 2 Opinion essay These days there are many endangered species. Some people think it is a waste of money to protect them. Do you agree?

These days, due to several reasons, the number of species that are on the verge of extinction is increasing. In my opinion, a sufficient amount of money should be spend in order to preserve them. In this essay I am going to prove my position with relevant points and examples. First of all, all species have their own part in food-chain. Unless a particular amount of finance is allocated to endangered species conservation, this chain is going to be broken which results in a number of problems. For example, the extinction of species that have the role of cleaning the surrounding can lead to the spread of different diseases. This, in fact, definately has affect on the life of people as well. Secondly, those species have always played a crucial role in pharmaceutical industry. Accordig to paper published in 2012, about 50% of drugs have correlation with natural resources. For instance, an experimental drug derived from saliva of venomous lizard has been proven to help people with type 2 diabetes by keeping levels of sugar in their blood at a stable rate. The extinction of those kinds of species would mean that new potential live saving drugs could be lost. In conclusion, I believe that each individual type of animals or plants have a role to play both in food-chain and drug production. Thus, it is critical that governments or society as a whole should do their best to protect those species.