online shopping is common nowadays. is this a positive development?

Shopping from stores is currently substituted by virtual stores on internet. There is an increasing number of people have changed their shopping habit and prefer purchasing their grocery, clothing, or technological gadgets online. Personally, I consider this is a adverse trend in the consideration of environmental health and potential cybercrime. This following essay will further share my point of view. The primary reason why I do not support online stores is due to the fact it involves a large amount of packaging wasting and transportation cost, which are detrimental to our planet health. For instance, Taobao is one of the largest online shopping platform in China and the consumers are not only people from China but also across the globe. It would generate a considerable amount of carbon gases when products are shipped from China to the other countries and also the owners would utilise numerous unnecessary plastic to wrap the product in order to keep it in good condition. These behaviors would cause additional burden to global warming, one of the imminent problems the world facing, and it would eventually endanger human being’s lives. Further, when consumers purchasing on internet, they are commonly required to enter their personal details and credit card information to process their purchase. If the online stores do not have a secure system, consumers’ details could be stolen easily and be used fraudulently when their stores’ website are being hacked. For example, the internet theft would use those credit card details to buy numerous luxury products at the consumer cost that could be hard to be recovered and traced by police. As such, people would suffer a significant financial loss. Although some people consider shopping online is convenient without district and time limitation, from my perspective, this convenience does not worth the risk for data security and the planet health as mentioned above. Therefore, I consider the shopping habit online should not be encouraged. To conclude, it could be handy for individual to shop online, however, in my opinion, this phenomenon could potentially bring a number of adverse impacts on the Earth’s health and security on personal details that should be avoided.