"Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly. So it would be better to invest in prevention measures.

There is a saying- “Prevention is better than cure”. People say it is very costly to do research and treat illness, instead, investing in taking preventive measures is a better option. This essay disagrees with the statement as it is practically impossible to make every single person aware of the prevention procedure and prevention of a disease is not always the permanent solution. First of all, prevention measures can only be effective if all the people take necessary action to make sure the disease does not spread. While it seems feasible, it is impractical to believe every individual would take the matter with same seriousness. One mistake from any one person can breach the prevention protocols and it might be enough to spread any infectious disease. For instance, at the time of Covid-19 pandemic, it was found that one in every three persons did not follow the standard safety protocols set by the Government in order to prevent the spread of the virus. As a result, the pandemic is still not over. Also, a permanent solution is necessary in order to do away with any diseases. Preventive measures can only delay the outbreak of any sickness which can always come back in the future. Putting money in finding the cure of a disease and treating it can only get rid of the illness for good. It can also make sure that even if the malady comes back in the future, people would still be unharmed as they would have the proper treatment for it. For example, Deadly diseases like Smallpox are believed to be eradicated as children are vaccinated after being born. To conclude, doing research on illnesses and treating it can be costly, yet I think it is the better option than investing in preventive measures instead as educating everyone about the prevention procedures successfully is unlikely to be a reality and a cure can only be a permanent solution to any diseases.