ONLINE SHOPPING. ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES

In this day and age, with the development of technology and the advent of various e-commerce platforms, consumers have been offered many choices of purchasing their favorite products. From my personal perspective, this current trend of shopping confers (brings about) many benefits in terms of cost and time, even though there may be several cautions which should be taken into consideration while buying goods online. On the one hand, there are two main merits when it comes to shopping online. First and foremost, virtual stores provide time-saving services to their customers who could probably surf on the internet and select their merchandise needed while enjoying the comfort of their own homes. For example, in the middle of this pandemic caused by Covid19, obtaining essential items would have been extremely difficult if there were no online shopping services. Furthermore, since small businesses selling their products online do not have to incur a tremendous amount of cost such as paying rent or commissions for offline sales, prices on these platforms are more competitive than those sold in physical outlets. As a result, buyers are more keen on choosing this method of shopping. On the other hand, security and cyber threats are the most serious/significant concerns among many. To begin with, credit card information is likely to be leaked and hacked due to the vulnerability of internet firewall, which causes unexpected incidents of payments or embezzlements. In addition, displayed photos of the targeted products might be manipulated to make them more attractive than they actually are. How would a customer feel if they bought a dress which was clearly different in quality as stated on the website and did not fit them well? Hence, these could prevent buyers from deciding to shop online. To sum up, although virtual shopping markets have been transforming our modern economy by bringing many positive sides such as time-saving features and promotional cost-effective programs, they might contain several risks including cyber scams or security loopholes. Smart shoppers, therefore, should be cautious when purchasing any item on the internet.