Online learning is becoming more and more popular. What are the benefits of learning using internet technology? Do you think that there is still a place for traditional classrooms in the modern world?

With the advent of technological evolution, there is not a single field that has not been touched with the innovation of advancement. Education is a vital one among them as online or internet learning has served a milestone for the pupils. Although there has been a great demand for online education, but there is still a need for traditional classrooms in this global world for being immensely interactive and rendering a helping hand for the development of social skills. Firstly, we have to admit that the merit of online learning is manifold. Online education has made ‘distance’ a trivial factor as there remains no obligation for students to attend classes in bodies. In other words students can ensure their presence in their desired classes from any part of the world. Moreover, with internet students can access any study materials anywhere with rich references and contents. For example- due to the infection of ongoing Corona Virus or COVID-19, in order to ensure safety protocols, there has been a suspension of conducting classes physically all over the world. Hence, classes has been conducted online including renowned institutions like Harvard and Oxford on the list. With regard to that, the online learning has helped students gaining greater insights to their study contents with advanced audio-visual simulating videos and graphics. As a result this had helped the students to get out of dull, conventional education method which is a vital need to keep up-to- date with the modern world. For example- subjects like biology, geography, mechanics etc. can be understood with greater depth through online method. Online learning has served as a helping hand to students in completing their assignments, tutorials and research. Although internet technology has co-operated in a gigantic way to prevent a halt to studies but it hasn’t been able to diminish the demand for traditional classes in any way. It has to be said that with the commencement of online learning, the students at present can feel the strong importance of traditional classes as it is highly interactive and gives an opportunity to engage in active learning through face to face discussion. Besides, it helps to maintain an inter-personal relationship among students through regularly interacting in classes, club meetings, programs etc. To add to this, not all majors can be studied online. For instance, along with theoretical courses, students need to complete various labs and practical courses which is only possible under direct supervision of teachers and hand-to-hand practices. On the other hand, online teaching has put a halt in conducting extra-curricular activities of students. Because in addition to attending classes in institutions, students also get the chance in such activities which has been inhibited due to online education. This may result in boredom and frustrations among many. Concerning online education, not all countries are equipped to engage their students in internet learning notably the developing and low-income countries. With the commencing of online education in these areas, it has been seen a rapid number of falling students, as they are unable to afford such technological equipments. Consequently this led to a halt in their education resulting in increasing child labour. So, only traditional face-to-face classes is the only resort to assist such children to continue their study. To conclude, I would like to say that while there has been a great applause for initiating online study, but still there is a place for traditional and offline classes to equip children with social skills, inter-personal interaction and mental development. We can utilise the benefit of both education by creating a system to incorporate them together for fruitful outcome in the near future.