One way to solve the congestion in cities is to build sky trains which run overhead rather than on or under the ground. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using this solution to solve congestion?

Sky trains are suggested as a method to reduce congestion in urban areas. This essay will discuss the benefits and downsides of the introduction of this facility into city life. On the one hand, sky trains have some favorable effects on urban areas. First, sky trains can be operated even in space constrained cities. Cities are highly dense areas with many business entities and accordingly there are umpteen employees and customers. The concentration of population in these areas is particularly high during working hours. There is not enough space to construct public transportation to accommodate the moving population. Running sky trains can alleviate the level of congestion on grounds. Second, it can be beneficial to relieve stress. A specific feature of sky trains is that they are operated in the air. While people are on board, they can appreciate scenery by looking out of windows. Compared to the subway system the exposure to open space on sky trains can refresh or rejuvenate people who are exhausted from work. On the other hand, sky trains have unfavorable aspects as well. First, it can trigger privacy invasion. Sky trains are operated up in the air, which enables passengers, unknown strangers, to invade people’s privacy, whose residence or offices are adjacent to and at similar or lower level than them. It is not pleasant to expose private space to the public. Second, it can make noise pollution along the sky tracks. It is operated from early in the morning to midnight, which can generate noises around at stations for three fourths of a day. It can have a considerable effect on residents and some of them might suffer from sleep deprivation. It can lead to illness if people have to deal with the lack of sleep for an extended period. In conclusion, sky trains are considered one method to mitigate congestion. This infrastructure can provide boons such as dispersion of commuters and opportunities to release stress, whereas it can provoke some issues including privacy invasion and the noisy environment.