A poor infrastructure hinders under-developed countries from progressing and modernising. Some people think that this should be the first problem tackled by foreign aid. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

It is undeniable that a country's wealth depends on its infrastructure. Some people claim that a poor infrastructure of the underdeveloped country is the sole reason to deter its development; hence, foreign aid should be used for better infrastructure. I partially disagree with this notion. I do not consider that enhancing infrastructure is the waste of money, but other major issues are also should be taken into account. First and foremost, developing countries require foreign investments to increase their growth. So, they should display their infrastructure, wealth to gain business deals from foreign industries. In the era of globalisation, foreign investors are eager to start multi-national businesses, but it demands proper infrastructure. To illustrate, investors in many countries were not interested in building their company in Saudi Arabia until they improved their country's infrastructure. Thus, it is important to use foreign aid for infrastructure development. However, underdeveloped countries should concentrate first on their fundamental need, such as medical and food production. Firstly, the regime should provide no-cost medical treatment to decrease the death rate of the people. Besides this, increase agriculture funding is one of the primary necessities to overcome a lack of food production in a nation. For instance, according to a recent survey of the Times magazine, several underdeveloped countries, mainly focusing on their basic requirements rather than other issues. Therefore, the bureaucracy should fundamentally strong to handle minor problems. To conclude, although it is essential to improve the country's infrastructure, major issues should be considered primarily. The regime should fulfil the basic needs of the citizens before focusing on other improvements. I believe that, in the future, underdeveloped nation's will focus on people's fundamental needs.