One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Often people in bigger cities complain about traffic jams on the roads. There are many variables leading to this problem, and comfort and centralized cities tend to be a few of those many problems. Although there are many solutions, this essay will emphasize on increasing taxation and updating urban areas so that cities stop getting overcrowded. This essay will discuss the problems and solutions to traffic jams. People are reluctant to travel in public busses and trains because it is more comfortable to travel in one's private car. Public transportations are mostly unmaintained and congested with excess people than it is supposed to contain, therefore, people are keen towards driving their own car, thus leading to more cars on the roads. For example, the majority of middle-class people nowadays own at least one car so they see it fit to drive it instead of being uncomfortable in a public coach. Furthermore, the cities are too centralized therefore easily overcrowded. More cars traveling towards cities from urban areas can lead to traffic jams; because those areas are not updated enough and do not provide most of the facilities. If the government does not focus is on updating urban areas, in the near future the cities will get more crowded. On the other hand, many solutions ought to be there, but the most effective one would be to decrease the number of private vehicles on the roads. Whereas, it might only be possible to do that by imposing extra taxes on the purchase of private cars; if the rate of taxes increases then purchases of individually owned cars may decrease. For example, it was observed in a survey in Bangladesh, that the purchase of private cars decreased by 30% after the government imposed 400% taxes upon private cars. Meanwhile, the government should focus on making developments to urban areas; plan to make sky trains and add other types of facilities that are available in larger cities, so that people visit the town less frequently. In conclusion, this essay discussed the problems that lead to traffic jams and also the solutions that the government should take into consideration. It is for the government bodies to make sure that the public transports are well maintained and to make development to urban areas so that the traffic may be well controlled.