One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. • What do you think the causes are? • What solutions can you suggest? Provide reasons for your answer. Include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, traffic congestion is one of the major concerns that almost all large cities in the world face. This raises a big challenge for those crowded cities on how to deal with it and how to diminish its impact. Several factors can be the reason behind increased traffic jam. As the world’s population continue to increase, hitting 8 Billion in 2020, the number of driving people continue to increase as well. Knowing the fact that most of those people live in urban areas, this results thousands and millions of people to use the road every day causing heaving traffic congestion. Absence of public transportation in cities like Beirut, containing about 2. 2 million habitants within a 20 KM area, have forced families to own two or more vehicles designated for their daily commutes. This has caused people to face continued traffic jam while trying to move from one destination to another within the city and thus facing a daily nightmare wishing they could just leave their car in the middle of the road and walk. Moreover, and due to lack of job opportunities in the countryside, people are forced to migrate from rural areas to the cities in order to find a job and afford a better cost of living. Having said that, traffic congestion has no magical solutions but can be controlled by performing some actions that may diminish its effect. Therefore, the government must start by supporting public transportation, providing bicycle lanes, and put dd-even license plate traffic policy into action. Such enhancements will immediately result positive impact on the traffic congestion and ease the life of people.