Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

Health is a fundamental right of every human being and this should be provided by the government of the country. Some people argue that basic healthcare should be free and I agree with this view. By investing in public health, a government can ensure that even the disadvantaged sections of society can access medical care and facilities. Every nation has poor people in their country although the number varies, it is essential to cater to their medical needs, otherwise, it becomes extremely difficult for them to afford these medical treatments. As they do not have enough income, thus it makes them more susceptible to death in case of illness. In addition to this, the government is more responsible for the wellbeing of its citizens and therefore, should take necessary action to provide healthcare and treatments without charging any penny. The Union Cabinet of India recently approved the launch of the National Health Protection Mission which was announced during Budget 2019-2020. Health care services should be prioritizing those who are in need. The government must make provisions for free of cost treatment for the poor whereas charging a nominal or affordable price from the rest of the country. However, diseases such as cancer, a heart attack can be cured if they are diagnosed at the initial stages and a lot of expensive medical interventions can be avoided. In other words, the government can reduce health complications by providing basic health care for free. To conclude, the biggest wealth of any nation is its people, and hence investing in their health by offering them free healthcare is important for any government. Depending on their healthcare budget nations should determine what treatments they can provide for free. In any case, basic healthcare must be free for all.