One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the major problems in todays world is the luckage of food, and according to some people the food which organisms are altered can solve this problem. In my opinion, nevetheless the foods with genetically altered organisms can boost the productivity, it is still harmfull for the environment and human health. On the one hand, some kinds of special substances are used in the production of genetically modified foods. As a result, it can be beneficial for farmers due to increase in product. However it can cause in extinction of biodiversity in natural habitats. In other words, the substances used in the process of altering the genes of products are harmfull for other natural species. Meanwhile, this dangerous substances can harm the land itself. That is to say that, these plot of lands can no longer be used for the products growth in the future. In India, for instance, certain plot of lands are announced by the government not useful for the farmers because of its previous usage for GM products. In addition, genetically modified products are very harmfull for the health of population. Due to the reason that organisms of certain products are altered, consequently, they can have negative affect on human organisms as the result of its usage. At the same time, these products prevent the metobolism processes in humans. In Turkey, for example, GM foods are proved to have the negative effects on people’s organisms, and even its intake among older persons is prohibited because of its harmfull composition. In conclusion, nevertheless the genetically modified foods increase the productivity and sale, it is obvious that it should not be the solution for food shortage due to its harmfull effects on human and nature.