One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantage of this development outweighs the disadvantages?

It is well-known fact modern people live much longer while in the past it was common they did not live until the age of 50. This improvement in the average length of life is due to medical progress. I believe, there are much more advantages to this trend. I would like to choose a few of them in the following text.  As we know, it used to be inconceivable to live up to 40 years in the Middle Ages. Previously, people did not know how to fight against diseases that are now curable. This caused the daying of millions of people. Moreover, women tend to give birth and have a child at an extremely young age. Therefore, many of them died during giving birth due to insufficient medical care. However, with science research and medical development also healthcare has been improved during the years. As a result, life expectancy has been increasing. We have access to quite effective drugs, vaccination improved. In other words, medicine itself knows more about diseases and how to cure them. Children do not die because of so-called child-diseases such as rubella, polio, or smallpox anymore.                                                                                                               Obviously, we still do not know how to defeat all the known diseases. On the other hand, there is still a possibility to find cures through ongoing scientific research. We can say that the quality of human life has definitely increased. For example, couples can have a family later and thus have more time for their career or traveling first. It has become natural that women have their first child in the late thirties. To compare with, when my mother married at the age of late twenties it was considered unusual. The only disadvantage I see in improved medical care is that in some cases human life is prolonged at any cost. As far as I am concerned, in some cases (for instance people with serious forms of disabilities or illness or those who are in a coma for many years) it is questionable if prolongation is really worth compare to the actual quality of the particular afflicted individual. But those are more ethical questions. To summarize, the progress in healthcare and medical research has definitely more positive impact on the quality of our lives.