LEARNING ENGLISH AT SCHOOL IS OFTEN SEEN AS MORE IMPORTANT THAN LEARNING LOCAL LANGUAGES. IF THESE ARE NOT TAUGHT, MANY ARE AT RISK OF DYING OUT. IN YOUR OPINION, IS IT IMPORTANT FOR EVERYONE TO LEARN ENGLISH? SHOULD WE TRY TO ENSURE THE SURVIVAL OF LOCAL LANGUAGES AND, IF SO, HOW?

IN RECENT TIMES OF GLOBALISATION AND RAPID DEVELOPMENT, LANGUAGE PLAYS AN IMPORTANT ROLE IN EVERY ASPECTS OF LIFE. ENGLISH IS GATEWAY TO THE WORLD AND NO ONE SHOULD DEPRIVED OF THE OPPORTUNITIES THAT ARISES FOR THOSE HAVING GOOD COMMAND ON ENGLISH LANGUAGE. HOWEVER, THIS DOES NOT MEAN THAT LOCAL LANGUAGES ARE DISPENSABLE, EVEN THEY ARE EQUALLY IMPORTANT, IT SUPPORTS EDUCATION INCLUDING ENGLISH LANGUAGE. TO BEGIN WITH, WE ALREADY KNOW ENGLISH IS AN UNIVERSALLY ACCEPTED LANGUAGE. NOWADAYS, MANY PEOPLE OFTEN TRAVEL OVERSEAS TO PERSUE HIGHER EDUCATION OR A BETTER JOB OPPORTUNITIES. THEY NEED TO COMMUNICATE CLEARLY AND COHERENTLY. CONSEQUENTLY, INDIVIDUALS NEED TO HAVE GOOD COMMAND ON ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND THERE IS NO BETTER WAY TO LEARN PROFECIENCY IN ENGLISH THAN TO LEARN IT AT SCHOOL, LIKE ANY OTHER SUBJECTS. ANOTHER ADVANTAGE OF LEARNING ENLISH IS THAT IT OPENS UP NEW JOB AVENUES. FOR INTSTANCE, A PERSON CAN EMPLOY THE JOB OF TRANSLATOR OR AN ENGLISH TEACHER. ON THE OTHER HAND, WE SHOULD NOT STOP GIVING IMPORTANCE TO LOCAL LANGUAGES. IF THEY ARE NOT TAUGHT TO THE YOUNG GENERATION, THEY RUN A HIGH RISK OF EXTINCTION. WITH THE DEATH OF LANGUAGES, THE CORRESPONDING CLUTURE ALSO DIES OUT. FOR EXAMPLE, A LOT OF ARTFACTS HAVE BEEN EXCAVATED FROM THE RUINS OF HARAPPA AND MOHANJODARO, BUT THEIR HISTORY HAS HARDLY BEEN DECIPHERED BECAUSE OUR INABILITY TO READ THE ALREADY LOST LANGUAGE. THERE ARE MANY WAYS TO ENSURE THE SURVIVAL OF LOCAL LANGUAGES PARENTS AND TEACHER SHOULD TEACH YOUNG PEOPLE ABOUT THE RICH HISTORY ASSOCIATED WITH THEM. AT YHE SAME TIME GOVERNMENT SHOULD PLACE GREATER IMPORTANCE IN TEACHING THEM AND SHOULD MAKE THEM COMPULSORY IN SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES. ULTIMATELY THE NEXT GENERATION AND AFTER, WHO CAN SAVE THE LANGUAGES FROM DYING OUT. TO SUM UP, I FEEL THAT LEARNING ENGLISH IS NO DOUBT HIGHLY IMPORTANT IN TODAYS WORLD, BUT SPECIAL CARE SHOULD BE TAKEN FOR THE SURVIVAL OF LOCAL LANGUAGES AS WELL.