one may argue that a fixed punishment for a crime

One may argue that a fixed punishment for a particular crime would be less biased, despite the circumstances, however, I think a criminal act must be judged from the situation that lead to the crime on the first hand. There are two school of thoughts regarding this issue. One pannel of experts think that, any derailment from law in an offence and it should be addressed accordingly. A person who broke the law once, is more likely to do it again. So the issues like motive and circumstances are just another scape goat for the criminals and they all should be sentenced the same punishment. On the other hand, other group of experts think that crime and punishment is far more sophisticated than just a simple math equation. One can't determine wheather the person is guilty of the crime and should be punished just by a look in the book. A persons state of mind, his surroundings, and other circumstances and influences always play a crucial role in an offence. Which may lead to a violent act which could be inevitable regarding those factors. In some medico-legal cases, some insane persons were also seen to commit a crime, though they did not have any proper sense of the consequences of their act. From this perspective, I believe, making a tagline for a crime and punishment would rather be a stupid act. People may end up with more punishment than they actually deserve. Everyone should get a fair trial, despite thier stand on the offence, other factors must be scrutinised to establish an efficient juricial system.