Once I was careless, Now I am attentive

Looking down in life, I have encountered lots of changes that occurred to me and perhaps it is a natural phenomenon to keep on changing as one grows. But a point in time that makes a sudden realization to reconcile with the past is rarely yet more revealing. I used to be a careless person up till last year and had no definitive goal to pursue despite my family kept on pushing me to think about life. Whether or not the carelessness is good, I kept on enjoying it until I took the entrance test of IBA Karachi. Before that, I used to think of myself as a free soul to enjoy life without any sort of tension and responsibilities but there came a definitive point when I touched the grounds and it made me realize that if I want to live this life, it needs to be on my terms and to do so, I need seriousness in my life. The first test I failed did not affect me much until my fourth test which was the last chance to get a scholarship at IBA Karachi. By that time, I was left with no other options and when all of my friends were planning to go somewhere else with a definite plan, I felt clueless and that hit me harder than anything else. It is not because I was left with no like-minded people, but one missing thing was a purpose in my life. I lived most of my life carelessly, spent much of my time on mobile games, made more friends but one thing of being purposeful was lacking in my life that is what changed me. Before all that, I used to think of life as a video game and wished to be a successful person one day but had no plan and the attitude of working at the last moment was heavily driving me. Although I had read more than 50 books so far, one moment was required to teach me the seriousness of life. After that day, I started studying for IBA Karachi and qualified for the next round by being selected to the top few candidates’ list who got direct admission to IBA without an interview. Hence, I got my first-choice department which is Computer Science. This became the first time when I realized that I could have qualified for the test before, but my attitude was hindering my path. Therefore, now I am a staunch believer of an attentive attitude and am taking my life seriously along with my work and trying my best to reconcile with the past. Now, I am living a purpose. If I had to sum it up, I believe that a realization is often a call and a push of our inner self to shift from one stage to another as much as I am now pursuing a reverse attitude than that, I used to follow before.