On the other hand, many people opine, that university education can bring benefits that concern not only an actual graduate but benefit the society where a person lives. Upon obtaining a degree, the absolute majority of former students are embarking on their careers and proceed to work in a chosen area of expertise. As a result, it directly contributes to the well-being of a whole country in the long run, not only a particular graduate. Therefore, I strongly support the view, that the purpose of educational entities lies far beyond getting a better place of work. According to recent researches, the contribution of modern universities in a strong country’s economy is about 75 percent.

Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion. It is commonly believed that the sole purpose of a university degree is enhanced career opportunities. Another viewpoint rests on the opinion, that the benefits of alma mater lie far beyond that and include society. I for one, totally agree with the latter and think that university education is not only about embracing career goals but also about bringing positive moments to the country as a whole. To begin with, many people are obsessed with ascending the career ladder and put all their efforts into achieving high social status. That is why they enter a university with the thought that they will be employed upon graduation and will be able to fulfill their goals. I am convinced, that graduation from a university will not provide a former student with a good workplace just because they passed final exams, as they will have to put an effort in finding a job and proving that they are actually professionals. Unfortunately, in the modern world, it has nothing to do with universities' internal tests. For example, my brother graduated from California State University but was not able to find a job, until he agreed to undergo an unpaid internship. On the other hand, many people opine, that university education can bring benefits that concern not only an actual graduate but benefit the society where a person lives. Upon obtaining a degree, the absolute majority of former students are embarking on their careers and proceed to work in a chosen area of expertise. As a result, it directly contributes to the well-being of a whole country in the long run, not only a particular graduate. Therefore, I strongly support the view, that the purpose of educational entities lies far beyond getting a better place of work. According to recent researches, the contribution of modern universities in a strong country’s economy is about 75 percent. To recapitulate, a university degree will not help a graduate to obtain a better job owing to the fact, that most companies demand special training to be passed in order to be employed. However, when a person graduates from the university, they can enhance society by starting to work without pursuing a better position. For this reason, I think that a university education affects an individual and society as a whole.