Nowadays there are more and more teenagers using social media. While some think that this phenomenon is harmful to the youths, others believe that it also brings about several benefits? What is your opinion on this?

In the time of modernization, the introduction of social media platforms such as Facebook, Messenger, or Twitter has changed the way people interact with each other. Due to that reason more and more young adults tend to use these social media habitually. From my point of view, this technological breakthrough has both benefits and drawbacks on adolescents. It can’t be denied that online social media is easy to use and communicate, allowing people to create accounts for free without paying any fees. Online social media is also a way for you to express your emotions through a variety of forms such as posts, emojis, etc. Social media also helps you to connect with other people. During the pandemic, the need to communicate with people become important therefore social media helps us to reach out to people. And thanks to the ability to connect with people, social media helps us to make friends with people from different countries. However, I believed that social media can also bring negative impacts on individuals. When social media become more and more popular, cyberbullying is a common thing on social media. Cyberbullying can come from hate comments towards someone about their appearance by anonymous users. This causes anxiety and depression to the user who is being bullied online. Furthermore, people can post inappropriate content online such as adult content or violent content without anyone censoring them. This causes young adults to imitate the contents like commit to self-harm themselves. In conclusion, although no one can deny the benefits of telecommunication via social media, social media still has some downsides. From my perspective, I think people should aware of some drawbacks of social media in order to avoid unfortunate incidents.