Olympic Games pros and cons

Olympics is so far the biggest stage to prove talent in any sports. Olympics is a kind of stage where sports people get together and exchange their culture. It not only improves exposure to sports but also helps individuals to exchange culture with fellow participants. 160 individual categories and 50 group category sports are included in the Olympics and the best of the talents compete together to achieve the medal. Winning a medal is a proud moment not only for the individual but also for the country. An Olympic medal is considered as the highest honor by any sports person. Every country sends its most talented people to Olympics to compete with other nations. Olympics administrative board comprises of representatives from all nations and decisions are taken in the interest of promoting sports. Many sports events are about to go extinct and events like Olympics helps to promote that sport to younger generations. According to Sunday Times, every 2 out 5 common people are inspired to start playing sports after watching Olympics. Nonetheless, most Olympic games are sponsored by developed nations and they occur very rarely which justifies their efforts to unify. The countries competing in the Olympics often have fraught international relationships and competition can counter-intuitively decrease tensions. This has the subtle but powerful unconscious result of fostering greater empathy between diverse ethnic and national groups. When an individual roots for their country and their athletes, and sees other individuals partaking in the same ritual, they will realize that association within a larger tribe is an essential, common human trait. Critics argue there are urgent needs that should be prioritized over a sporting event. This applies to every nation but particularly developing ones. In my opinion, despite these valid objections, there is still great value in the unifying impact of the Olympics. In conclusion, despite the seemingly inefficient allocation of funds, the Olympics are a mass, cooperative effort that has tremendous value. Therefore, countries should consider hosting the games a great honor.