older people and their contribution to society

Thanks to science and medicine technological advances we now have the opportunity to prolong our life spans drastically. But whether is a good or a bad idea is still unknown to us. In my personal opinion, it will not be beneficial for human kind or the planet to prolong our lifespans. I believe is amazing that now old people can carry on with their activities thanks to modern medicine. For example nowadays we can see our elders practice high impact sports without having much of a difficulty healthwise. But on the other hand if we increase or lifespans, overpopulation will become a bigger problem than it is right now. The planet is not prepared for more human beings, because the longer we will the more resources we will have to spent. Also seeing it from the more human side of things, economically the countries are not prepared to have a high amount of elders in their population. Because the majority of elders have finished their laboral lives, so in consequence they do not produce money anymore, but the government still has to pay for their medical insurance and give them their jubilation money. So given the former statements we can conclude that having a more durable elderly population will only be a problem in the long run, both ecologically and economically.