Older people and their contribution to society

Every year, scientists and doctors find a new way of improving health and with this creating a longer lifespan. My opinion in this subject has two points of view. If we talk about this as a matter of family, it is awesome. For our grandparents to stay with us for a longer time, I would support this, because they are the people that we love and care for. Now, if we talk about this as a contribution to society, I do not think that is a great idea. I have many reasons and arguments for this. For example: we are already overpopulated and if we expand life, resources are going to become more scarce. Another good point is, even sometimes old people want to die. I know this sounds awful but some of them say that they have lived their lives or that they are tired. Also, they can be the reason for many problems. For example: BREXIT, the only people who voted for this were older people and this made adults and young adults miss work and life opportunities. A second example, could be the elections in the United States. Older people do not care for the climate change or any other matter that Donald Trump represented, which lead them to vote for him. As a conclusion, I think that this subject can have to point of view and it will depend on how people see this.