Old people are increasing. Is this trend good or bad?

Debates on whether senior citizens are beneficial to society as their population follows an upward trend has been a hot potato for decades. As far as I am concerned, while others may disagree that the senior generation only brings upon social and economic burdens, the knowledge the elderly possess can hold visions for the future, yet it is true that over long periods of time, resources would be in shortages in response to a lack of working forces. A new future can be visualized by learning from the elderly's experiences and past mistakes. Although their stamina has decreased by time, their knowledge of the past is quintessential to establish a new version of society. For instance, survivors from the Holocaust are spreading awareness to prevent the possibility of genocides happening again. Generally speaking, the advantages of this upward trend for the senior populace yields more social benefits than economic prosperity. In the long term, older people are financial burdens to the economy as well as the government. In an economic setting, as more people retire, meaning that the number of old people has eclipsed their descendants, the working industry would suffer from a decline in human resources. Therefore, in countries such as Canada, the local communities are encouraging young people to marry earlier to ensure that new workers are available for future development. This means that an upward trend for the older community brings more harm than good to the economy and to the country as a whole. In conclusion, while it is true that society can benefit from older people's knowledge of past times, their age is a major issue which alone can cause the downfall of a stable economy. Speaking from a personal perspective, I believe that regardless of their ages, everyone can contribute to society and the economy in their own way.