Old friends are as important as new ones

It is undeniable that there are advantages to keeping old friends and making new ones. The former is more casual because they spend a long time together. The latter provides us with a new perspective. However, although old friends have many advantages, for some reason, I don't refuse new friends either. To begin with, old friends are those who have known each other for a long time, like childhood companions or classmates, old friends accompany us through the past and have many memorable past events. So old friends make us feel relaxed. For instance, old friends share a lot of memories with you. In other words, people had spent way more time with their old friends. Thus, they share memories that involve both happy and sad times. They know you and your habits the best, they are the ones who can give the best pieces of advice. All in all, keeping old friends is a marvelous opportunity to have someone faithful and reliable by your side. Furthermore, taking the initiative to meet new people and trying to accept different perspectives is the beginning of learning new things, and many new perspectives are not gained from old friends. Old friends likewise start with new friends, so taking the initiative to try to make new friends is essential in life. We grow older we meet more like-minded people because we have a better sense of self, of what we like and what our interests are. So in any period of life, we will meet new friends. Last but not least, I think that life is harder when we are alone, so I personally believe it is very essential to maintain a good relation with old friends through time, and although making new friends is significantly important. That is why many people try to keep their old friends while they socialize with new friends because it is obvious that life wouldn't be easy without a person you know and trust for a long time. In short, for the above reasons, old friends and new friends are equally important. People cannot live without friendships in their daily lives. In my opinion, both go hand in hand and are not conflicting. That is why I prefer to make new friends while not forgetting old ones.