Often former government regulators are offered jobs by the industries that they had previously been overseeing. Critics say that this is a conflict of interest, while others say it’s not justifiable to restrict individuals’ actions once they’ve left public service. What do you think? Give reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Why should a public servant not get involved in a conflict of interest? Firstly let us take a look at a que significa the conflict of interest; according to article 40 of the disciplinary code the conflict of interest arises when "When the general interest of the public function conflicts with the particular and direct interest of the public servant. " (Colombia, 2002). It is important to identify when there is a conflict of interest because this puts at risk the obligation of the state the general interest that is to say that of the citizenship over the public service. According to the public function, conflicts of interest are unavoidable and cannot be prohibited because public servants have family and friends who could be involved in any employment decision and affect the normal functioning of the public administration (EVA, 2019). To prevent these conflicts from occurring public servants and contractors must be aware of the situations in which your personal interests intervene in the fulfillment of your functions and responsibilities. This means when your personal decisions affect the entire Colombian citizenry, that is, the public interest. In my opinion, Colombia is a country with high levels of corruption for this reason, those actions where there are conflicts of interest on the part of contractors and public servants, they are given with the knowledge of these professionals, that is, breaking their professional ethics. These people know that the law does not judge in a strict way people with positions of high level or recognized for having a high status, therefore the sanction that is imposed is not of great concern. In addition to, I think that these irregularities cause the lack of trust of citizens in the public administration. From my point of view, it is important that professionals are trained from the academy that they carry out their actions from moral and transparent principles, we cannot continue to justify the corruption of all our public servants and normalize it. On the whole it can be identified that the conflict of interest is a reality that exists in our country even if it is to justify we know the lack of ethics of our public servants, considering that they are always immersed in corruption scandals. Finally, I believe that conflicts of interest are the beginning of many cases of corruption that we see every day.