of fostering understanding between individuals of various cultures.

These days, global tourism has become the primary source of revenue in a number of countries throughout the world. However, many people argue that international tourism has resulted in disputes between people who have different customs and lifestyles instead of fostering understanding between individuals of various cultures. To a certain extent, I agree with the opinion; however, I also think that conflict is only a small part compared to the enhancement of mutual perception between people. On the one hand, there are justifiable reasons why people state that international travel creates confrontations between individuals of various cultures rather than bridging the cultural gap. First, there are likely a number of globe-trotters who are culturally ignorant or disdain regional norms, which leads to adverse impacts on the relationship between the tourists and the citizens. For instance, there are many ill-informed Western tourists who dress inappropriate clothes, such as wearing short skirts or swimwear when visiting religious attractions in Vietnam and causing discomfort to the local population. Second, when the influx of foreign visitors grows by the day, which simultaneously results in an increase in crime, such as drug dealers, murders, and pickpockets. Therefore, it is inevitable to evoke conflicts in the relationship between the holidaymakers and the locals. Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that tourism at an international scale allows connecting people through profound mutual understanding rather than creating tensions between them. One of the reasons is that it facilitates individuals to get the hang of the cultural backgrounds of people from other places. For example, when organized tours to underdeveloped countries are more and more popular, the inhabitants will have the opportunity to broaden their horizons due to exposure to people from more civilized societies. Additionally, traveling across countries enables travelers can understand the core lifestyles, regional customs, and economic condition of a nation. As a consequence, they will be able to do experience unique things they have never had before, which also help expand their knowledge and have a better awareness of local moral and religious values. In conclusion, although it is unavoidable that foreign traveling creates conflicts between the visitors and the locals, I hold a strong belief that it is more likely to facilitate understanding between people from various cultures.