obtaining a visa for overseas should be relaxed

For many people interested in studying abroad, one of the first problems they face is obtaining a visa to enter the country and, in many situations, the procedure is time-consuming and frustrating. As a result, there is a clear case for making visa applications less stringent. However, there is also a potential for abuse if the system was made more lenient, and both of these opinions need to be considered. In support of simplifying the visa-application procedure, it must be remembered that obtaining a visa is one of the first steps towards studying in a foreign country. If this process is difficult then it reflects poorly on the country the student is intending to go to. Moreover, once in the country, students often find it less problematic to use the services of an immigration agent, to whom they surrender their passports and pay sometimes phenomenal sums of money. In the same way, this again reflects poorly on the host country. Yet there is a point of view that suggests visa regulations should remain as they are, or even become stricter. It is inevitable that once a developed country opens its door to students, there will be some who exploit the opportunity without any intention of fulfilling the study requirements of their visa. To conclude, perhaps the best solution would be to allow the schools, colleges and universities that attract international students to have greater control over those students that do arrive in a country. This would allow the institutions themselves to police the students while being overseen by the Immigration Service itself.