Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

It is argued that personal time should be spent developing our brains to work more efficiently mostly by engaging in tasks, for example, solving complex patterns and gaining new knowledge. Although, I am of the opinion that this precious free time should be set aside to only relax and enjoy oneself during that period. Improvement is only made when the effort is put upon it; consequently, intermittent hard work will drain the energy out of a person. Work is considered a chore in which no one willingly dives in and persues, provided if it becomes compulsory or anyhow productive. People do get involved in order to achieve their goal and derive an output from it, therefore, at the end of the day, they are exhausted and not refreshed for the coming next. Furthermore, self-improvement is also burdening activity on the mind whether people do things they love. It requires strategy and deep thinking, attention, processing to work upon the required skills to mastery. This self-driven grind for transformation is always a stressful task and wears out a person mentally at the end of the day. However, leisure time should be consumed in doing things an individual likes without the hope of receiving a reward. For instance, the Nobel Prize winner, Albert Einstein, did, in fact, played the piano when taking a break to calm down his mind. This tactic he employed is the method utilized to distract his god-gifted mind and cool off a bit to think more precisely. This routine, in return, helped him gain the title, 'Father of Physics'. In addition, pursuing hobbies, just for the fun of it, make a person develop himself indirectly through a process called implicit learning. It is scientifically proven that our brain absorbs information and analyzes it whether we pay attention to it or not. As a result, we do pick up on new things which we love without looking forwards to a reward when finished. This way it helps us relax and rejuvenate our mind simultaneously. In conclusion, while leisure time spent on self-improvement activities will only add up the stress of the day and wear out a person, I believe that time allocated to enjoy oneself should be consumed in relaxing our nerves so that the person can get refreshed, fully charged to come to his/her routine all fresh and motivated.