. Obesity in children is a serious problem in a number of countries. What are the causes of obesity in children? Discuss the possible alarming effects of this problem in the future. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Obesity is a major problem that is increasing day by day among school children. There are various reasons behind it. This essay will discuss the causes of obesity and offer some solutions to address the issue. There is evidence to demonstrate that obesity is a consequence of numerous factors. This leading tendency is caused by several factors such as ingestion of a huge proportion of fast foods, and people are enjoying a sedentary lifestyle. Excessive consumption of junk foods is the number one cause of obesity. Junk or fast foods are rich in calories and unhealthy fats. When they consume more calories than their body can burn, it will convert the excess calories into fat. Many parents have hectic schedules and they spend less time preparing home-cooked meals for their children so they opt for fast food with high-fat content daily. Some other children are attracted to food that is high in sugar and fat such as hamburgers, milk tea, fried chicken. In addition to the above-mentioned processed food, eating bigger portions than they need or taking in more calories than they burn off also makes children obese. Another possible factor could be that children nowadays tend to have a sedentary lifestyle, they play computer games, chat on the internet rather than doing sport or playing outside. Moreover, some children go to school in their parents’ car instead of walking or cycling to school. Therefore, they cannot burn off calories and become overweight. On the other hand, I think several measurements can be done by parents, governments, and schools. Firstly, giving children healthy food, controlling what they eat, and ensuring that they have a healthy diet. For example, a diet that includes more vegetables and less fat contents. Secondly, governments can limit junk food advertisements or prohibit those which are directed to children. Finally, restrict the time they spend on the computer and video games, and encourage them to do regular exercise. In conclusion, it is true that obesity among children with its negative impacts, is growing at an alarming rate but it seems to me that there are many solutions to tackle this problem.