Nurse scheduling problem in the Covid-19 pandemic

Nurse scheduling problem in different shifts of work in medical centers is one of the important issues in healthcare systems and has a great impact on the satisfaction of all stakeholders in this field. Conditions during the Covid-19 pandemic cause various problems such as fatigue due to high workload or nurses suffering from this disease, which causes a shortage of the required number of nurses in work shifts. To solve these problems, floating nurses are users who have the required skills and in case of a shortage of manpower, they can replace the fixed nurses in the required work shifts. Another issue that may occur is the lack of equipment needed by nurses such as masks, robes, etc. In this paper, to minimize the deviation from fixed nurses 'preferences for attending a shift, fixed nurses' wage costs during normal and overtime hours, floating nurses 'wages, and finally, equipment costs, a mixed-integer programming model for nurses' scheduling in Covid-19 pandemic is presented. Assuming that the number of nurses required in shifts and working days is uncertain, the mathematical model is solved by stochastic programming and using production methods and scenario reduction, based on data generated in GAMS software, and the program of nurses' attendance in different shifts in a limited time horizon is presented.