How to encourage young adults to spend more time on reading books than using smartphones.

Reading books abounds with a host of benefits, ranging from enhancing knowledge, improving life skills, mitigating stress, and so on. Notwithstanding the obvious advantages of reading, in modern times, many young people waste a considerable amount of time on their smartphones, meaninglessly. Fortunately, there are some suggestions to motivate teenagers to spend more time on reading instead of surfing on their smartphones. First, making young adults not depend on smartphones should be at the top of the list. As parents, it is necessary to pay attention to how frequently your children indulge in mobile phones. If the young keep inappropriate balances between using these electronic devices and other activities - study, rest, and outdoor activities, it is time for a small discussion. That discussion, for example, could specifically include some disadvantages of phones as wastefulness of time, or bad effects on health, especially their eyes. Moreover, you manage to set a limited amount of time for daily phone use. Try to ask the young about their timetable, give some optional suggestions if needed, then. In case those previous methods fail to succeed, an ultimate one is ready to be used, play hide and seek with their phones. Their mobile devices should be left somewhere out of their sight and only be returned during break time. Remember where their phones are unless you want to lose any sons or daughters. Secondly, after parents encourage their children to cut down on their screen time, friends can also help young adults develop an interest in reading by making it appear in every corner of their lives. For example, if you want to make your young adult friends read books more often, instead of discussing dramas or showbiz news on a daily basis, you can start changing the topic of the conversation into books. If there is a friend that constantly babbles about reading some books these days and keeps on saying how exciting the books are, it might pique young people’s curiosity and inspire them to read books. Additionally, as a friend, one can also ask the young to hang out at the library or bookstore rather than a bar or club. By doing this, the youngsters will have more chances to access books on different topics and probably find the books that they like. After all, just try to fill their heads with thoughts about reading books and gradually they will become a frequent reader, but make sure to not overdo it or else they will never look at your face again. Finally, making reading books trendy will make young adults more and more interested in reading. Young people usually follow trends as it helps them to catch up with the world and feel like fitting in with society. Thus, the Ministry of Education and Training or schools can cooperate with influencers to create challenges such as “Me and my favorite book”, “One quote a day”, “Octobook”. Influencers will post a picture of them with a book or just simply a photo of a book on their social media, the hashtag will be included in the caption. By doing this, the challenge can easily approach the young people and make them want to follow their favorite public figures. Thanks to the challenges, the youngsters may find out the fascinating side of reading books and take interest in it. Those three steps above can be useful solutions to encourage young people to read books rather than use smartphones consistently. If your children, your friends or your relatives seem to be addicted to their phones and you want to steer them towards a healthier hobby like reading books, try to apply those steps and the result will surprise you.