Nuclear energy is a better choice for meeting increasing demand, agree or disagree?

As the demand for energy increases, the non renewable resources start depleting. However, number of people are advocating the use of nuclear energy, I am not in favour of this notion. In the forthcoming paragraphs I will discuss the reasons to support my view point. Firstly, setting up a nuclear power plant is costly. Although it does not require a large proportion of land, its building can cost a huge sum. On the contrary, it is also expensive to dispose the harmful waste produced by such power plants. Therefore, only developed countries are able to invest on such projects. For instance, Japan is able to meet 40% of their energy requirement through nuclear power plant. Secondly, process of producing nuclear energy can result in many health issues. it is important to handle and dispose the waste produced in these plants as they are highly radioactive. These radiation can damage the cells and tissues of living body leading to diseases like cancer. In a research done by University of Manchester, shows that the countries using nuclear energy have more proportion of cancer patients compared to their contemporary. Thus, save disposal and handling is required to prevent the harmful effects it can cause to healthy body. In conclusion, it is easy to meet the increasing demand of population using nuclear power, but their disadvantages are far more to be considered. We can overlook the cost but cannot avoid damage it can cause to the life of the people.