Nuclear energy is a better choice for meeting increasing demand. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that nuclear power is a better alternative to satisfy the world’s escalating demand for energy. While I accept the observable advantages of nuclear energy, I believe that there are also potential dangers involved. Nuclear power has several benefits for the environment. First of all, it is considered to be a relatively sustainable source of energy. Nuclear plants operate with very high efficiency, with a global average capacity factor of 80. 5%. To exemplify, nuclear power plants deliver electricity 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, irrespective of weather and seasons. As well as reducing greenhouse gas emissions, nuclear generation helps reduce air pollution, responsible for 6. 5 million deaths globally each year. On the other hand, the use of energy also has some negative impacts which could outweigh its merits. To commence with, accidental radiation leak is one of the most severe drawbacks of nuclear power. Although it is taken over by governments, if safety measured failed, it would result in detrimental effects associated with ecosystem and biodiversity. For illustration, the process of mining and refining uranium has not been clean. Apparently, transporting nuclear fuel to and from plants involves a pollution hazard. In conclusion, I do agree with the opinion that nuclear energy should be used as an effective alternative to meet global needs. However, the downsides of nuclear power exploitation should not be forgotten.