Nowdays people buy a lot of things even though they dont really need them, why is it happening? Is it a positive or negative trend for the individual and the society.

The purchasing of unnecessary items has become a trend among people these days. People are excessively indulged in purchasing household stuff. Subsequently, many individuals spend money on shopping for things that are not needed. The occurrence of this phenomenon is due to digital marketing and peer pressure. This trend harms society because non-worthy expenditures put people in debt and prevent them from investing their funds for greater purposes. The prominent reason why people buy things unreasonably is due to the invention of online marketing. Everything is now available on the internet; thus, saving people time and effort to visit stores physically. Consequently, online shopping fascinates individuals with schemes and higher-up their needs to buy things they are not meaning to purchase. Furthermore, this trend is also due to peer pressure; to stand out affluent in the society, adults do not miss out on anything new in electronic gadgets, household items, and fashionista clothes. Therefore, people engross themselves in purchasing lots of things which might not be needed. This phenomenon of endless shopping hurts society. In other words, because of limitless purchasing, people are not able to save as much money as they should for futuristic needs such as life insurance policies, children's education, and medical insurance. This forces the vast majority of people to commit the crime and cyber frauds to pay the debt they owe to banks, thereby, ruining their future. This gradually provokes the perils of criminals in the society, threatening the survival of people around. Hence, purchasing things without a genuine reason can prove to be disturbing for society in many ways. To conclude, it has been underscored that people are seen to be buying things without a need which is due to electronic media marketing and peer pressure. This deteriorates the society by making them debt holders, and lead to a deficit of money in the future to utilize for better purposes. Nevertheless, people should aim to become minimalist to live a stressless life in a monetary aspect.