Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

These days more and more people are suffering from sleep-related disorders and they are deprived of adequate sleep; this is troublesome as it negatively impacts their health and brings many complications. Sleeplessness accompanies a plethora of issues, in this essay, we will focus on a few major problems like anxiety, depression, and obesity along with the methods to curb or minimize the issue. To begin with, sleep deprivation adversely affects the mental and physical health of a person. Firstly, if people do not get enough sleep, then it can lead to memory loss, as with time inadequate sleep reduces the ability to retain information. Secondly, people with sleep issues are more prone to depression as compared to those who sleep well; for instance, a study conducted on people suffering from depression shows that most of them have been suffering from insomnia. Thirdly, some research indicates that how chronic insomnia can lead to anxiety if not controlled on time. Finally, it is believed that a short period of sleep can cause obesity because it increases the appetite of people. There are various measures that can be taken to combat this problem; if people indulge themselves in relaxing therapies such as meditation and yoga, then they will surely get benefited as these therapies are considered to be the most effective way to deal with this matter. Moreover, regular exercise has also shown positive results. Furthermore, usage of electronic items like mobile or laptop can be the culprits of insufficient sleep as it signals the brain to be alert and awake, thus reducing the screen time before bed and instead, switching to reading can be more effective. To conclude, sleep deficiency can affect the proper functioning of the brain, however, the methods discussed above can help people get a peaceful sleep.