Nowadays young people know less about tradition and culture than in past. What are the reasons for it? what can be done to improve this situation?

In the current scenario, the amount of stress put by the parents on their children to succeed has been increasing, may it be getting better grades or grabbing a higher salary package. There are various reasons for this tendency, however, the major one according to me is to keep up with the Joneses. While, this is bringing about positive changes such as encouraging the students to achieve better and to view each other as competitors, I believe that, this competition is rather unhealthy and the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. The primary reason for this according to me is that nowadays parents want their child to do better that other children. It is the societal pressure, which is driving the parents to make sure that their child is getting a better score than their friend's and is earning more than the other. Forgetting what the true happiness actually lies in, they have started to measure success and happiness in terms of money and materialistic things. Also, parents opine that these things would result in a secured and comfortable future. In the first place, pressuring the students too much has created an atmosphere of unhealthy competition and jealousy among themselves. The constant comparisons that parents make to improve their child's performance with respect to the other has caused the students to view one another as rivals. This degrades one's morale and further, makes the person demotivated or on a more negative side angered by other's success. This can be clearly seen from the fact that many students now tend to conceal important knowledge and information from each other. This is significantly impacting the interpersonal student relationships. Looking further into the matter, students take a lot of stress to get better at the things they do and failing to do so, they tend to get easily depressed and fall prey to bad habits such as drugs. Also, as an extreme step, they commit suicide when they are unable to meet their parents' expectations. This is evident from the have been increasing number of suicides taking place on students failing in exams or not getting a desirable score or job. In conclusion, in the race of securing their child's future, parents have started to rob the children of their present by keeping unnecessary expectations. The several reasons listed above have been proven detrimental to student's mental health and is pushing them to the edges of death. As discussed above, there are various demerits in comparison to the merits.