Nowadays we see children spending lots of time playing games on computers or watching TV, instead of getting more quality time with their parents. WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF GAMES?

With the constant advancement of technology, playing online games has become one of the most popular forms of entertainment for modern youngsters. The masses are beneficial aplenty from this activity; however, an array of its drawbacks should also be taken into account. In reference to the positives, video games assist teenagers in acquiring various skills and qualities. For example, in survival games, individuals’ tasks are to read maps, strategically combat and run to avoid being shot by other players– all of which require much thinking; thereby, children’s cognitive skills can be enhanced aplenty. Besides, players have to surpass many levels before actually winning the games so much perseverance and effort are needed. The aforementioned skills and qualities are not only required in playing games but they may also facilitate individuals to succeed in real life. On the other hand, online gaming can cost players a fortune. In some games, they offer virtual currency which aids children to buy goods or accelerate their process of winning. Once players run out of this, they can use real cash to buy more and there have been many cases in which children, many of who haven’t yet had the sense of financial control, overbuy and eventually use up all of their parents’ money. Besides, game installation sometimes requires advanced additional software, most of which are extremely costly. To sum up, online gaming helps children to gain several invaluable skills and characteristics but it is at the same time an astronomical form of entertainment.