Nowadays we have become a throwaway society with where it is common to throw away devices and gadgets instead of repairing them. Why is this happening and what are the effects of this?

These days more and more people prefer throwing away devices that are broken and buy new ones to replace them. This essay will firstly discuss the foremost reasons for this development. Secondly, this essay will highlight the consequences this is having on individuals and the community. In today's day and age, cheap electronic gadgets have become common in every household. Moreover, a lot of times it can cost an arm and a leg to get broken devices fixed, whereas buying a new gadget can actually be cheaper owing to the fact of abundant supply. All such reasons pave the way for a throwaway society. For example, when Samsung launched their budget phones in 2008, Samsung reported a decrease in their sale of their spare parts with a increase in sale of cellphones overall. This is because Indian customers found it more affordable to replace their phones, instead of getting them fixed. Having a throwaway attitude within the community can have adverse effects on society overall. This is due to the fact that people with such an attitude will not go the extra mile to save the environment by recycling these products. Furthermore, a polluted environment will in turn affect the members of the society through air that they breathe and water that they drink. For instance, Shenzhen, a city known for its cheap electronic goods, has zero recycling culture and one of the highest pollution related deaths in China, as per a BBC report in 2019. In conclusion, the rapid availability of cheap electronic goods is the reason why people adopt a thowaway culture. The effect of such a culture leads to polluted environment, which in turn hurts the people adopting this culture.