You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

With growing population and demand it is no surprise that the level of waste we are producing is increasing. In this essay, I will explain why this happening and how the government and we as individuals can help tackle this issue. With the growing fast-paced lives, individuals have gotten accustomed to “one time use” items. The most common waste produced by this is plastic. From shopping bags to cling wraps and take outs the amount of plastic we consume is massive. A major contributor to this is also coffee shops where the cups and straws are made of plastic. To tackle this, few governments around the world such as Thailand and India decided to put a complete ban on plastic. Due to this, people started carrying their own reusable grocery bags or taking their own reusable cups to coffee shops. Another reason we produce waste is due to the lack of awareness. People are not aware of how much waste is being produce by them. To tackle this, governments can hold beach clean-up initiatives to bring light to this matter. Events like these end up leaving a big impact on an individual. Furthermore, sustainable living should be encouraged. Encouraging people to adopt a more sustainable lifestyle can help reduce waste. Waste jars have become a recent trend amongst millennials. Collecting the rubbish produced in their daily lives a small jar and acknowledging the waste produced at the end of the week, has helped millennials reduce their rubbish. To conclude, sustainable living is one of the big ways we as a society and help reduce waste. The government too can play a major role in how much waste is being produced from an individual by simply creating more awareness and initiatives.