: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

The world and specially asian countries are experiencing a major problem nowadays which is high amount of garbage production. A number of countries like India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand are producing tons of non degradable waste which includes plastic and other environmental toxic things. There are three main reasons behind this. First is gaps in laws and policies. Though the working governments are taking a lot of necessary steps to reduce the wastage, on the contrary there are huge gaps in laws as well. As an example, usage of non degradable polythene is still not fully banned in countries like India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. There are certain parts in these countries where the usage is banned on the contrary there are huge gaps in laws in smaller states. Second reason is Education and lack of resources. In many undeveloped countries, people are not aware of the consequences of using non biodegradable resources such as polythene etc. Things like sanitary pads and condoms are thrown in garbage. A used sanitary pads take 15 years to decompose and since people are not aware of this fact, they just throw these things out on roads etc. Third and major reason behind this is that many people think that how can I change the system and why should I spend few extra bucks to buy biodegradable products. I believe that both governments and citizens should work together. People should start acting on government policies and should completely avoid using non biodegradable products. Though in metro cities, many working governments have installed a waste management system that collects the waste generated and converts it to something useful that does not harm the mother earth. On the same like, governments should quickly plan to extend this to smaller cities. There should be a ban on factories and industries that are responsible for generating the waste. In conclusion, I would like to quote a famous saying of Mahatma Gandhi "Be the change you wish to see". Every person is responsible for bringing this change and everyone should work towards it.