Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Consumers today want to gain every item in the market convinently by the snap of their fingers. Due to this demand, the supply for ready-made or ready-to-grab items have been increasing with a spinking rate. Lives have evolved to be so controlled by work that people these days do not have time to cook or go clothes shopping. This has caused the rate of rubbish produced to increase. Plastic is not the only one contributing to the waste, cans, plastic bottles, styroform and many other items are also a part of it. Other than being busy, people want everything quick these days which is why packaging plays a huge factor in production of rubbish in every sector of the market. If a person goes to a mall to shop for clothes, they would be given a paper bag. Whereas, when shopping online, they come in plastic packages to avoid the product being damaged from the weather. Government can take an active part in decreasing the level of rubbish produced. They can put a policy in place to ban plastic bags at the grocery stores and in other shopping centres. Students should be taught about how to manage the rubbish and moreover, how to properly decompose the ones already covering the landfills. If we keep using rubbish with the same attitude we are right now, the number will never see a decreasing rate. People have to realise that we would be the ones suffering in the near-future. It is our responsibility to preserve the mother nature.