Nowadays, we are living in the age of nuclear technology. Do you think merits of nuclear power outweigh the demerits.

Currently, many developed countries are using nuclear technology for various purposes and more nations are looking forward to harness the power of radioactive substances. It is a debatable topic whether nuclear technology is safe or not. I believe that it has huge potential which can benefit humankind if used wisely. The greatest advantage of nuclear technology is its capability to generate enormous amount of green energy with very small quantity of Uranium or Plutonium (Radioactive Elements). It is an alternative method of power production which is less polluting than conventional ways of manufacturing electricity that require burning of fossil fuels such as coal and petroleum. So, it not only saves reserves of natural resources, but also provides solution for another serious problem of environmental degradation. Apart from it, this technology has also been successfully used in medical industry. A highly lethal disease, cancer, could be treated by using radiation therapy or chemotherapy for killing cancer causing cells. However, the dark sides of nuclear power cannot be overlooked. The most worrying aspect is its potential to devastate the cities and countries just in seconds. It is not possible to forget what happened in Japan (Hiroshima and Nagasaki) where nuclear attacks resulted in massive loss of life and property. Moreover, there is always a threat with nuclear power plants which can kill people working there and cause great damage to ecosystem in case of any leakage of radiation or explosion. Chernobyl reactor explosion in Ukraine (1986) is the best illustration of such unfortunate accident. In conclusion, I believe if it is handled by destructive minds; it can certainly demolish the entire globe. Thus, it must be dealt with a wise approach and adequate precautions.