If you are a team leader, how can you make your team effective

First of all, having an effective team means the team is strong and cohesive. An effective team can save more time and energy since all members are working on their own tasks. This team can accomplish a task or reach a goal within a limited time with excellent performance. To ensure the team members all have a certain purpose, the first step to building an effective team is to define the purpose of the team. When the team purpose has been clearly identified, team members will start working hard to achieve the same goal. The first stage in making an effective team is forming stage, which means it is characterized by a great deal of uncertainty about the group’s purpose, structure, and leadership. For example, informing stage, each member “tests the waters” to determine what types of behaviors are acceptable. This is also the stage in which people with the same purpose gather together. For example, the team's purpose can be changing the feature of a smart monitor or improving as well as creating a new feature. This stage is complete when members have begun to think of themselves as part of a group and wanted to solve the problem together. The second stage is storming. It is one of the intragroup conflicts. Members accept the existence of the group but resist the constraints it imposes on individuality. There is conflict over who will control the group. For example, I think that I should be the group leader, while Leon disagrees with me. When this stage is complete, there will be clear leadership within the group. I became the leader; the members decide this by casting votes. In the third stage norming, the group starts to gain cohesiveness by developing close relationships between each member. For example, I as a group leader start to get along with Leon and appreciate each other, friendship starts to develop. Group members get to know each other as time passes by. This stage is complete when the group structure solidifies and a common goal has been established—this rises the consistency. Besides, constitutions have also been constructed. In this stage, creative ideas can also be generated from team members. The fourth stage is performing. The group structure at this point is fully functional and accepted. Group energy has moved from getting to know and understand each other to perform the task at hand. At this stage, there is a clear task allocated to each member. Everyone focuses on the work in their hand. Finally, the workgroup came up with an appropriate solution and perform as expected. The permanent workgroup ends with the performing stage. Up to a point, a team leader has a large effect on a team and so is the most important person in a team. Sometimes, it can decide whether the team can perform successfully or not. A team leader acts as a lighthouse, which guides people on the right track. One of the essential objectives of a team leader is empowerment. A team leader’s main aim is to help the team to learn and succeed. That starts with daily motivation, relationship building, as well as showing respect. Teams should feel empowered by group leaders’ trust and confidence in them. When they’re empowered, great work can be created. A team can be empowered in different ways, such as encouraging team members to take on new challenges, asking for their ideas and insights, and reinforcing the empowerment with positive feedback. Empowerment from a leader is meaningful, according to Justin Rosenstein’s statement, “when everyone on a team is empowered and trusted to manifest their full potential, each person becomes capable of so much more, which makes the company capable of so much more. Our experience is that, with the right team, distributed authority results in organizations that are happier and more effective in accomplishing their most ambitious missions. ” Another characteristic of a team leader is effective communication skills. If this skill is used efficiently, this team can often avoid most of the conflict and arguments. This helps the team members to concentrate more on the achievement of goals rather than spending time on fixing membership. Indeed, effective communication skills can provide co-creating solutions to problems when they arise. This can prevent 90% of the problems between team members. The team leader should be a kind and honest communicator.