Nowadays, vast arrays of goods are produced due to people’s demands, the world over.

Nowadays, vast arrays of goods are produced due to people’s demands, the world over. Regarding whether the durability of products should be assigned the greatest weight rather than their affordability, there are strong arguments on both sides which will be outlined in this essay. Looked at in one way, those who emphasize on making long-lasting commodities assert that this would affect the buyers’ habitual behavior positively. That is to say, purchasing products which do not become obsolete soon may reduce the risk of consumerism in a society. In terms of clothing, for instance, as making outfits with sturdy material usually undergoes convoluted but costly processes, the majority of the public would not be able to follow passing fads; thus diminishing fashion victims considerably. Furthermore, it is the concerted effort for creating high quality products that introduce eminent brands. A case in point is Caterpillar with the slogan of “the longer, the stronger” which has become one of the lucrative companies by designing shoes not wearing out easily in the long run. Conversely, the proponents of production with less expenditure embrace the idea that the cheaper products are fabricated, the greater size of population could benefit from them, in particular the indigent suffering from economic issues. This could not only provide the people from all walks of life with opportunity to access more sources, but also enable suppliers to meet different consumers’ demands effectually. A salient example is smartphone as an undeniably practical gadget for today world which is sold ubiquitously from the most expensive to the cheapest price, covering legions of users inclusively. To recapitulate, while releasing more durable commodities may lower the rate of consumption as well as presenting well-known brands, I would maintain that less expensive manufacturing should be attached more importance, as producers could sell various gamut of goods less exclusively to larger group of purchasers with limited budgets